NaBloPoMo??

National Blog Post Month?  What’s next?? 

I just did this a coupla months ago, and look where it lead me.  Now I’m a member of two separate on-line writing groups and stumbled into the NaNoWriMo maelstrom. 

Likely the only person who will read this is the Green-eyed devil anyway, but that’s OK. 

Here’s a little poem I wrote for the Halloween Contest on Writers.  I took 2nd place (out of three entries, to be sure, but still 2nd.)

The Piper

Be alive and have fun like there’s no tomorrow;
For the piper is cleaning his tools today;
Someone must pay for my deep sorrow.

Today there is light and joy to borrow;
Every bacillus must have it’s day;
Be alive and have fun like there’s no tomorrow.

It’s not fair that my love now inhabits a barrow;
All of my joy lies encased in the clay;
Someone must pay for my deep sorrow.

All worms turn with the flight of time’s arrow;
For now you may yet drink, dance and be gay;
Be alive and have fun like there’s no tomorrow.

Now my love’s garden lies deeply in fallow;
But the piper is coming, and he knows his prey;
Someone must pay for my deep sorrow.

Payment in full is due upon the morrow;
Her silk thread was cut short by your drunken play;
Be alive and have fun like there’s no tomorrow;
Someone must pay for my deep sorrow.

© 2008 William J. Sier  (Just in case anyone gets any silly ideas)

  I wrote a story, too, but I’ll leave that for another day.

Leave a Reply

