It’s The End of the World as We Know It

Actually, that happens every day.  Time marches on, and as it advances, the world changes.  Every second is a portent of the Impending Apocalypse- because if we’re aware of it, the I.A. hasn’t occurred yet.  Nikos Kazantzakis character Zorba the Greek, said “Life is what you do while you’re waiting to die…”  Dilbert said, on a refrigerator magnet, “I get e-mail, therefore I am.”  “I think.  I think I am.  Therefore, I am!  I think.” In The Beginningby The Moody Blues,a fine take off on “Cogito, ergo, sum” first espoused by  René Descartes (1596–1650).

By these criteria, I’m alive.  Or at least, I exist.  But then, mold exists.  I’m not aware of any mold that receives e-mail, although have known some people over the years that have made me wonder.  

If you sense me getting anywhere near a point, please let me know.

So if I exist, on this plane of existence, what now?  There are only two things absolutely mandatory in life, and I’ve done one of them- I was born.  As Zorba put it, I’m still  “waiting” for the other one.

People have told me I have a very dark outlook on life, and a very low opinion of my fellow human beings.  That’s true, to a certain extent, and yet I can still laugh, still recognize the simple beauty of a sunrise, the awesome power of a thunderstorm or the charm of a romping puppy.  But there remains this undercurrent of dark rumblings that inhibit me in some relationships.

Leave a Reply

