Winning Lottery Numbers

I need `em.  I’m so sick of working for morons, it’s not even funny.  I finally saw Office Space last year, and have long been a fan of Dilbert.  They’re so close to reality, it’s frightening.  I saw a sign once that read “This isn’t a job-it’s Hell with fluorescent Lighting!”  That pretty much explains where I work. 

Today when I got to work, my manager told me there was a new process for doing a report to the client for which I am responsible.   They bear a strong resemblance to TPS reports.  So I was in the process ofcreating this report, when I hear hime say “Stop!!  They’ve fixed the OLD way we did it, so we don’t need the NEW way!”  As I did the report, Isaid “You do realize that all of the numbers for today so far are incorrect, because of this?” 

What a maager looks like when stumped
What a manager looks like when stumped

So being the good little peon that I am, I corrected the rest of the numbers FOR TODAY!!  Yesterday, he can worry about.   However, I didn’t do this without trepidation.

Three months ago, I was runing the office at night. I did everything, from issue equipment to monitor call flow. 

 “My candle burns at both ends; It will not last the night; But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends It gives a lovely light!” Edna St. Vincent Milay

Did they appreciate it??  No they tried to fire me.  Never mind that everything was chugging along nicely,  I had brought a short-coming to the attention of my then-boss, and his response was to fire me for causing the problem.   I made enough noise up the chain that not only did I get moved to a day slot, but that manager got demoted. 

However, this does put a crimp in the desire to “go the extra mile.”  You never know, they may get rid of you for working TOO hard.

One thought on “Winning Lottery Numbers

  1. Don’t you feel better getting it out? I knew this blog thing was a good idea for you!

    Office Space always makes me laugh. No matter how many times I see it. It is a classic that will stand the test of time.

    I feel a book coming out of this…You could call it “Surviving Morons”…or something like that.

Leave a Reply

